Reminders

Remind me of the time when we were ourselves
Never mind when we tried to chase the limelight
When it all goes down, will you remember you?
Remind me of the time where I knew my family, my friends, and the places we went
They’re all changing
Places aren’t what they once meant
Love is recycled and borrowed
And not nurtured with care
Like parents look after their seeds
If you do show you care, people awkwardly stop and stare
So I have to ask:
When it all goes down, will you remember you?
Remind me of the time where people believed in chances
When we were little in the middle of circles doing dances
The more things change, they stay the same
Some people stay indifferent, others will never be tame
However, there’s no slowing down for me. Things may shift but I must stay with both feet on the ground
With sights unfamiliar
Tastes never tasted
Feelings never felt before
But as you leave the floor, please let me know that:
When it all goes down, do you remember you?
Do you know where you’ll land?
Do you know you’re power?
Or your upper hand?

Leave a Reply

