End of Week One

So it’s official. It’s the end of the first week of the 365 Writing Challenge. I’ve promised myself that I wouldn’t screw it up and miss a day and I haven’t so far and I’m obviously very happy. I’m accomplishing something (so far) that I actually said I was going to do, which is what I said I would work on for the new year. I always struggle with what I’m going to write about next or at least write next. There’s so many things I can write about! There’s so many things I’m conflicted with! Where’s my focus button?!

You may be asking: “What could I possibly be conflicted about?” I’ll go with the first out of many conflicts I have with writing everyday. The first being: What am I writing next? My mind can literally go in so many ways it may just drive me nuts. My ideas come and go like seasons to the point where I have to center myself about what I truly want to put out there to the universe. One minute I want to be write poetry, the other, minute it’s short story or narrative. If you’ve seen my blog and/or have been following so far, I’ve been posting mostly poems. I think the reason why I’ve been posting more poems than any other form is because to me (and no offense to others) poems seem easier to write and also quicker to write. To me, writing an essay, short story, etc. takes more time, effort, and thought as opposed to a poem where I just write expressions. Long story short, I’ll work on variety and expand the pallet as I have been doing.

Lastly, I have one more conflict. I’m not the best at focusing. One thing I can say has hindered me from being productive in all aspects is the television. Now, maybe I should correct myself and say it’s not the televisions fault for hindering my productivity. I mean it takes two to tango. I can say that I have encouraged my laziness instead of down right ignoring the idiot box as I’m doing now. It wouldn’t kill me to admit my wrongs. Trust me when it comes to wrongs I’ll be the first to admit mine. I’m not looking for sympathy or someone to blame. However, it wouldn’t kill my family members to turn the TV off for a couple of hours. I get distracted easily and focused as I try to be, I have to try harder. Maybe I need a work space or an office? I don’t know but my focus is a work in progress and I can say it’s not all that bad.

Leave a Reply

