Forgiven Not Forgotten

For all this time I forgot how much I hated you
And how much I cared
And how the anger and resentment built up inside me like the berlin walls
And nothing can make them fall

For such a long time the rage
Made me put you above it all
Cause you were a skyscraper
Causing a dark cloud on my
Life. Living in such strife.
Staining my innocence as if you
poured coffee on my white shirt
Damn that hurt

But still as I sit here clutching
The painful, petrifying, past in my hand in the form of a ribbon
I’m trapped. The tears are a mixture of happiness that I’m making the step of letting go and of frustration that I’ve held on so long and let your sickness grow on me like a cancer
I let the ribbon go
It flies following the ways of the wind
I look up and I’m finally free again

Leave a Reply

