The Tide

In the water, the tide slaps me in the face

It’s pretty odd that this cold water is what I embrace

and let myself sink and float into

Who knew the tide could be this strong?

It’s as strong as the inevitable and unwavering hold

my mother has over me

Everyone could tell me the same thing over and over

again and I  could accept like it means nothing.

But when my mom says it, her words slap me in the

face and change something within me.

Who knew the tide could be so strong?

The tide leaves me be

it leaves me borderline sedated with not

a thought or control in my mind

I forget about the difficult tomorrow that

faces me.

It’s all like a mirage.

No human could ever tap into this part of me

as much as I try to find someone who could

Only nature can make me feel nothing but

Nirvana.

Who knew the tide could be this strong?

With people there’s an ending or let down but

with the tide it never ends. It’s like a dangerous yet

thrilling ride.

It never lets me down but it could kill me.

As I open my eyes I see nothing but blue,

darkness, and tranquility. Should I stay and

let the blue take me over? Like a drug taking

over a person’s life? Or do I face the living and

tomorrow ?

Dammit I’ll take my chances

I swim up to the surface

Who knew the tide could be so freeing?

Leave a Reply

